Pets & Animals 12.13.18

Dog Owners. . . It’s the Law!

New York State Law requires all dogs to be licensed annually. The State requires that all Town Clerks’ office process them in their local municipality. Before a license can be issued or renewed, current proof of rabies vaccination must be provided. The Rensselaer County Health Department requires all dogs three months of age or older to be vaccinated for rabies. This information is crucial for the general public’s well-being. In addition, proof of spaying or neutering must be presented if applicable. The fee for a neutered/spayed dog in Sand Lake is $8.00 annually. The fee for a dog that is not neutered or spayed is $11.00 annually. Dog owners who do not respond to the renewal notice will be contacted by the Clerk’s office. In the event that the dog owner does not respond after several delinquency notices and subsequent follow-up phone calls, their name is forwarded to the Animal Control Officer for further action. The Animal Control Officer visits the residence for final compliance. If no attempt is made to license the dog after all these procedures, the dog owner can be ticketed and/or fined with non-compliance of State and Town law. The Town of Sand Lake does have a Leash Law. In addition, if your dog is lost, stolen or dies, New York State law requires you to notify the Town Clerk’s Office. Failure to comply with this law can result in a lot of issues for the dog owner. Check the Town’s website for additional information regarding the Towns Dog Laws. The Town of Sand Lake does not deal with Creekside Kennel any more, we now use the Mohawk Humane Society in Menands. If your dog is lost, you should contact either the town, Catherine Crawmer at 518-477-8230 or the Mohawk Humane Society in Menands at 518-434-8128. When your dog is not licensed, additional impoundment fees are required AND OTHER FEES.

~ Barbara A. Biittig, Town of Sand Lake Town Clerk

 

 

Attention All Dog Owners in The Town of Schodack

Debra L. Curtis, the Schodack Town Clerk, wishes to remind residents that under New York State law, all dogs are required to be licensed by four months of age. Before a license can be issued or renewed, current proof of rabies vaccination must be provided. Rabies is a contagious and serious disease spread from animals to people so having them vaccinated helps to protect not only your dog, but you, and your family.

To obtain a new license, a copy of the current Rabies Certificate (must be valid for more than 30 days prior to licensing) and proof that the animal has been altered must be provided. The cost for a spayed/neutered dog is $7.00 and an unspayed/unneutered dog is $15.00. One tag is issued for the lifetime of the license; however, in the event of loss, can be replaced at a cost of $3.00. A renewal letter will be sent, on a yearly basis, based upon the anniversary of the license.

If you have a dog that is of age and unlicensed, you are in violation of State and Town statutes. Please be aware that if the Town conducts a dog enumeration, not only will you have to pay the licensing fee, but you will also have to pay an additional fee for having an unlicensed dog. If you have any questions please visit the Schodack Town Clerk’s office, Monday to Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. and Saturday, 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. or please call 518-477-7590.

 

Attention All Dog Owners in the Town of Nassau

Sandra L. Rings, RMC, the Nassau Town Clerk, wishes to remind residents that under New York State law, all dogs are required to be licensed by four months of age. Before a license can be issued or renewed, current proof of rabies vaccination must be provided. Rabies is a contagious and serious disease spread between animals and from animals to people. Having your dog vaccinated helps to protect not only your dog, but you, your family, neighbors and friends.

To obtain a new license, a copy of the current Rabies Certificate and proof that the animal has been altered, if applicable, must be provided. The cost for a spayed or neutered dog is $10.00 and an unsprayed or unneutered dog is $18.00. One tag is issued for the lifetime of the license; however, in the event of loss, can be replaced at a cost of $3.00. A renewal letter will be sent, on a yearly basis, based upon the anniversary of the license.

If you have a dog that is of age and unlicensed, you are in violation of State and Town statutes. Please be aware that if the Town conducts a dog enumeration, not only will you have to pay the licensing fee, but you will also have to pay an additional fee for having an unlicensed dog. If you have any questions, please visit the Nassau Town Clerk’s office, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday, 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 noon and Thursday evening, 6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. or please call 518-766-2343, extension 1.

 

 

You May Also Like

Winter Fun 02.13.20

February 13, 2020

Winter Fun 02.06.20

February 6, 2020

Winter Fun 01.30.20

February 4, 2020